Cash When You Need It
Fast. Convenient. Simple.
Apply online

Regulator Details

Maine Office of Consumer Credit Regulation

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation
35 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
Phone: (207) 624-8527
Fax: (207) 582-7699
Contact: William N. Lund Director

advertiser disclosure

Informed Decisions

We hope our site helps everyone make informed financial decisions.

To keep our service free our partners pay us. This may impact what products we review or how they appear, e.g. the order or color in which companies appear, but our opinions are our own and partners cannot pay us for favorable reviews. See a list of partners

We review many financial companies and their products but are unable to cover them all. If you'd like us to review a company or product please let us know at moc.dnuohsod@kcabdeef


Maine Short Term Loan Laws

Select a loan amount

Maine Payday Loan Laws Details

The data provided here is for general informational purposes and should not be used as legal reference. If you have questions regarding Maine payday loan laws contact the Maine Office of Consumer Credit Regulation.

Payday loans are permitted for supervised lenders in Maine (see Maine Payday Loans or Maine Installment Loans to compare fees and requirements for individual lenders).

Feature Specification
Amount (max)
Rates or Fees (max) (Small Loan Rate Cap)30% per year on amounts up to $2,000 or a fee of $5 for amounts financed up to $75; $15 for amounts financed $75.01-$249.99; or $25 for amounts financed of $250 or more.
Term Limitations
General Loan Terms

Maine regulations mention nothing about rollovers. Nothing is mentioned about cooling periods between loans. Maine has no requirements for extended repayment plans.

For example, in Maine the rates and fees on a 14 day, $100 loan are:

Terms Amount
Loan Amount $100
Sample Loan Terms
Finally, a more detailed excerpt from Maine's statutes on finance charges is listed below. In general the tables above summarize this.


Citation: Maine's UCCC and Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 9-A Section 2-401., Rev. Stat. Ann. tit 9-A Section1-201, Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit.  9-A Section1-301. Supervised Lenders are exempt from 32 Me. Rev. Stat. Section 6138(4)(D) which prohibits a check casher from cashing or advancing any money on a postdated check.